Ralph, who grew up on Long Island and starred in the hit series Albert Elementary, is one of 31 entertainers to be inducted on the Hollywood Walk of Fame for the 2024 class, the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce announced Monday, June 26.

Ralph got emotional as she shared the news with her fans in a video posted on Twitter.

“Everyone is blowing up my phone…I have to thank God. I have to thank everyone who thought of me for this,” she says in the video. “I’m touched, grateful and lucky.”

Recipients of the iconic Sidewalk Star are selected from hundreds of nominations from the Hollywood Chamber’s Walk of Fame Selection Committee, which is comprised of Walk of Fame members.

“The committee has done an excellent job in selecting these very talented individuals,” Ellen K, chair of the Walk of Fame selection panel, said in a statement.

“We can’t wait to see the reaction of each honoree as they realize that as their stars are unveiled on the world’s most famous aisle, they are becoming a part of Hollywood history!”

Ralph was born in Waterbury, Connecticut, and grew up between Long Island and Mandeville, Jamaica. She graduated from Uniondale High School in 1972.

Her acting career began in 1977 starring in the American crime comedy film ” part of the actiondirected by Sidney Poitier.

She went on to appear in dozens of films and television shows, including The Mighty Quinn, Mistress, Sister Act II: Return to Habit and the Way Back.

In 2022, she joins the hit sitcom Abbott Elementary School In ABC, play an old teacher with 30 years experience. Her performance on the show earned her an Emmy Award and a Critics’ Choice Award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series.

In addition to Ralph, the following celebrities were also inducted into the Hollywood Walk of Fame class of 2024:

Action photo: Chadwick Boseman (posthumous), Kevin Feige, Gal Gadot, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Chris Meledandri, Chris Pine, Christina Leigh Qi and Michelle Yeoh

television: Ken Jeong, Eugene Levy, Mario Lopez, Jim Nantz, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Michael Schur, Kerry Washington and co-hosts Raúl De Molina and Lili Estefan of the TV show “El Gordo y La Flaca” (A Double Ceremony)

Record: Glenn Ballard, Tony Braxton, Dave Leppard, Charles Fox, Sammy Hagar, Brandy Norwood, Darius Rucker, Gwen Stefani and Andre “Doc” Dre Young

Live theater/live performance: Jane Krakowski and Otis Redding (posthumously)

radio: Angie Martinez

Follow the Nassau Daily Voice and receive free news updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *