Sayville High School held its Senior Athlete of the Year and MVP awards at the Villa Lombardi in Holbrook.

This is the first time the event has been held as a banquet. Dozens of student-athletes were honored at an awards ceremony sponsored by the Xavier Sports Foundation.

Below is a slideshow of the special prize winners from the June 5th event.

Below is a list of the other honorees, broken down by sport.


  • Most Valuable Boys Cross Country Award: Luca Malone
  • Most Valuable Girls Cross Country Award: Mullane Baumiller


  • Carl Varone Track Award: Jack Owenburg
  • Paul Kelley Track Award: Zakary Minutello


  • Betty Martin “MVP” Hockey Award: Angelina DeVito


  • Huron Smith Memorial Football Award: Luca Berlinguieri
  • Most Valuable Men’s Soccer Award: Owen Burke
  • Most Valuable Women’s Soccer Award: McKenna Farrell


  • Most Valuable Cheerleading Award: Ava Rueb
  • Cheerleader Award: Chloe O’Connell


  • Most Valuable Baseball Award: Ryan Hillery
  • Golden Ball Baseball Award: Ryan Leineke


  • Most Valuable Softball Award: Sarah Blaskiewicz
  • Golden Baseball Softball Award: Sarah Blaskiewicz


  • Most Valuable Women’s Golf Award: Maura Reilly
  • Most Valuable Boys Golf Award: Cavan Mahler


  • Mehasson Women’s Basketball Award: Natalie Jones
  • Major Merrill Wish Basketball Award: Richard Carmody
  • Bud VanWyen Memorial Basketball Award: Ryan Cunningham


  • Most Valuable Women’s Volleyball Award: Morgan Reese
  • Most Valuable Men’s Volleyball Award: Jason Frantino


  • Most Valuable Women’s Swimming Award: Jordan Carpentieri, Emma Haas
  • Most Valuable Men’s Swimming Award: Aidan Cameron


  • Otto Kubele Memorial Women’s Tennis Award: Meredith Albertelli
  • Otto Kuber Memorial Men’s Tennis Award: Josef Albertelli


  • Evelyn Stoll Women’s Track and Field Award: Mullane Baumiller
  • Atlanta Women’s Track and Field Award: Madeleine McKillop


  • George Rhodes Memorial Wrestling Award: Leo Mongiello
  • Jules Molson Memorial Wrestling Award: James Miller


  • Most Valuable Bowling Award: Zachary Yovino


  • Most Valuable Women’s Lacrosse Award: Tyler Hawes
  • Women’s Lacrosse Defense Award: Olivia Laydon
  • Most Valuable Men’s Lacrosse Award: Ronan Fitzpatrick
  • Boys Lacrosse Defensive Award: Benjamin Sands


  • Most Valuable Women’s Fencing Award: Mia Santana
  • Most Valuable Boys Fencing Award: Martino Albanese

flag football

  • Women’s Flag Football Offensive MVPs: Olivia Moynihan, Ava Vadyak
  • Women’s Flag Football Defensive MVPs: Grace Sarni, Ava Rueb

uniform basketball

  • Uniform Basketball Coaching Award: Nathaniel Kavanagh, Daniel Holahan


  • Dimitria Bineares Scholarship: Lilly Clampett

Memorial Award

  • Barney Pazourek Memorial Award: Vincent Bonfanti
  • Xavier Football Booster Club Award: Thomas Golio

banquet photos

Photo: Courtesy of Sayville Public Schools

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *