Issue a proclamation honoring service members who made the ultimate sacrifice.

Governor Kathy Hochul announced today that tonight, May 29, 2023, New York State landmarks will be lit red, white and blue in honor of Memorial Day.In addition, Governor Hochul issued a announcement Memorial Day honors service members who have made the ultimate sacrifice for the country and nation.

“As we honor those who have served this great country and nation with courage and honor, New York renews its commitment to uphold the values ​​and freedoms they fought for,” Governor Hochul said“On this Memorial Day, we mourn those who made the ultimate sacrifice and recognize the solemn responsibility of living in a free society.”

Landmarks lit up in honor of Memorial Day include:

  • The World Trade Center

  • Governor Mario M. Cuomo Bridge

  • Kosciuszko Bridge

  • H. Carl McCall SUNY Building

  • National Education Building

  • Alfred E. Smith State Office Building

  • empire square

  • State Fairgrounds – Main Entrance and Expo Center

  • Niagara Waterfall

  • Albany International Airport Gateway

  • Lake Placid Olympic Center

  • MTA LIRR – Penn Station East End Gateway

  • Fairport Elevator Bridge over the Erie Canal

  • Moynihan Train Hall

New York State Department of Veterans Services Commissioner Viviana DeCohen said, “On this Memorial Day, we honor those who gave their lives in defense of our country and its values. Our service members and veterans fought to protect the freedoms and ways of life we ​​hold dear. We must never forget them Great sacrifices made in war. Pursue this noble purpose. We have a solemn responsibility to honor them by ensuring their legacy lives on and by continuing to support and care for those who have served and their families.”

Memorial Day was first recognized in Waterloo Village, New York, on May 5, 1866, when veterans and civic leaders marched to the community’s three cemeteries for graveyard services in honor of those who lost their lives in the Civil War. In 1971, Memorial Day was officially recognized as a federal holiday and a national day of mourning in honor of those who have served in the United States Armed Forces.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *